Alekorista löytynyt vaalea alpakkasekoite halusi puikoille. Kutsui kaverikseen vaaleansinistä angoraa. Aikani niiden juttuja kuunneltuani ymmärsin luoda käsineen verran silmukoita. Silmien pohjalla vilkkui muisto lapasesta, jonka yksinkertaisen neulekuvion täydensi resorin paikalla oleva ainaoikeinpitsi.
    Lapasina ne aloitin, mutta sormikkaat niistä kuitenkin tulee. Pitkän sisäisen keskustelun jälkeen myönsin itselleni, että vaikka kuinka ihailen lapasia, olen enemmän sormikastyttö.
    Ja niistä tulikin ihanan pehmeät. Haluaisin pitää niitä kirjoittaessanikin. Tjaa, seuraavaksi pitänee tehdä niistä torimuijan luksusversio.

    Some gorgeous alpaca/merino yarn jumped into my basket a while ago. It was on a cone and there wasn't much left. It started talking about some soft angora, and of course I relented. After all, can there be anything nicer than the pairing of two such exquisite fibers? I chose hazy blue angora to go with the oatmeal alpaca. First I thought they'd be mittens. Just in time though I realized I'm not a mitten-girl after all, and turned them into gloves. There is no ribbing, and the lace was knitted separately and then sewn on. So soft  -  now I'll have to make a pair without fingers - it's a bit nippy at my desk where I write.
      
       433199.jpg

       Scholler 25% alpakka-75%merino, 
28g
       Katia Angora Extra, 19g
       malli mukaellen muistojen pohjalta

        Scholler alpaca-merino,  1oz
       Katia Angora Extra, 3/4 oz
       Pattern: my own based on memories

       433202.jpg

       Lähikuva ihanasta pörröstä. Olen täysin hurahtanut angoraan! Kun en arvannut oikein angoriinan blogissa, harmitti sen verran että menin ja tilasin tupon angoraa netin kautta. Ja nyt ymmärrän hyvin miksi arvaukseni meni täysin pieleen. Angoraa tulee painoonsa nähden valtava kasa!

    A detail of the fuzzy halo. I have become a fan for angora, bait hook and sinker. There was a contest in one of the blogs not long ago, where you could winthe pile of angora fiber if you guessed the amount right. I was way over, and totally bummed out, since I'd really wanted to lay may hands on some of this gorgeous stuff. I then went ahead and mailordered a small amount. The pile is huge - now I know why my estimate was off... angora really weighs absolutely nothing.